MACKINAC ISLAND YACHT CLUB
Sailors from all ports can enjoy the amenities of the Mackinac Island Yacht Club when they anchor on the Mackinac Island shores. This is one place where membership truly does have it's privileges, but even if you are not a member, it’s a fabulous place to watch the boats come in and enjoy a sunset over Lake Michigan.
The club has eight rooms for the convenience of it's members available by reservation. Each of the Mackinac Island Yacht Club rooms has it's own bathroom and is equipped with a ceiling fan. Room rates and clubhouse policies are online at the clubhouse page.
Founded in 1937 with the acquisition of the former George Sweeney home by original club members, the first Commodore of the Club was J. E. Buker. The members own the clubhouse and lease the land upon which the clubhouse stands from the Mackinac Island State Park Commission.
In the 1940s and 1950s, membership in the club grew steadily. Despite this, the house itself fell into disrepair. When W. F. "Bill" Doyle was elected Commodore in 1955, he undertook the project of restoring and renovating the entire house, adding a burgee room on the east side of the original building. In 1985 the club enlarged that room into the present dining room and added two additional sleeping rooms to the second floor. Regularly scheduled dining events are for members only, but the grounds themselves are open for tourists to explore.